Philosophy of Physics, UMD

New Directions in the Foundations of Physics
MAA Carriage House, Washington, DC, April 30 - May 2, 2010

Sponsored by the University of Maryland, College Park (College of Arts and Humanities, Committee for Philosophy and the Sciences, Institute for Physical Science and Technology), Georgetown University (Graduate School, Georgetown College, Philosophy Department), Johns Hopkins University Philosophy Department, and coordinated through the Foundations of Physics Group (University of Maryland - College Park, Johns Hopkins University, Georgetown University).

Friday, April 30

Session 1 (Morning): Early History of Quantum Mechanics and its Relevance to Current Debates on Quantum Foundations

Chair :
Philosophy, Johns Hopkins

9:30 - 10:50 "(Never) Mind your p's and q's: von Neumann versus Jordan on the Foundations of Quantum Theory" MICHEL JANSSEN
Program in the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
University of Minnesota

Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Pittsburgh

10:50 - 11:10 Coffee Break
11:10 - 12:30 "Something Old, Something New: Heisenberg's Response to EPR" ELISE CRULL
Department of Philosophy
Notre Dame University
12:30 - 2:30 Lunch

Session 2 (Afternoon): Entanglement Thermodynamics and Black Hole Thermodynamics

Chair :
Physics, Maryland
2:30 - 3:50 "A Reversible Framework for Entanglement and General Resource Theories" FERNANDO BRANDAO
Universidade Federal
de Minas Gerais, Brazil
3:50 - 4:10 Coffee Break
4:10 - 5:30 "Black Hole Thermodynamics" BILL UNRUH
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of British Columbia
7:00 - midnight Buffet Party

Saturday, May 1

Session 3 (Morning): Correlations, Complexity, and Computational Power

Chair :
Trinity College, Cambridge
9:30 - 10:50 "The Computational Character of Quantum Correlations" DAN BROWNE
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University College, London
10:50 - 11:10 Coffee Break
11:10 - 12:30 "Quantum Computing with Closed Timelike Curves" SCOTT AARONSON
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
12:30 - 2:30 Lunch

Session 4 (Afternoon): Characterizing Quantum Mechanics in the Class of No-Signaling Theories

Chair :
Inst for Hist & Foundations of Science, Utrecht
2:30 - 3:50 "Information Causality as a New Physical Principle" VALERIO SCARANI
Center for Quantum Technologies and Department of Physics
National University of Singapore
3:50 - 4:10 Coffee Break
4:10 - 5:30 "Beyond the Quantum Model" MIGUEL NAVASCUES
Facultad de Ciencias Matemáticas
Universidad Complutense de Madrid
7:00 - midnight Buffet Party

Sunday, May 2

Session 5 (Morning): Lorentz Invariant 'Collapse' Theories and the 'Free Will' Theorem

Chair :
Philosophy, Western Ontario
9:30 - 10:50 "Nonlocal Setting and Outcome Information for Violation of Bell's Inequality" CASLAV BRUKNER
Quantum Optics, Quantum Nanophysics, Quantum Information
Faculty of Physics
University of Vienna
10:50 - 11:10 Coffee Break
11:10 - 12:30 "The GRW Flash Theory and the Conway-Kochen "Free Will" Theorem" RODERICH TUMULKA
Department of Mathematics

return to top

Discussants include:Valia Allori (Philosophy, Northern Illinois U), Howard Barnum (Perimeter Institute), Howard Brandt (US Army Lab), Dieter Brill (Physics, UMD), Jeffrey Bub (Philosophy & IPST, UMD), Alessandra Buonanno (Physics, UMD), Jeremy Butterfield (Trinity College, Cambridge), Eric Cavalcanti (Centre for Quantum Dynamics, Griffith University, Australia), Bill Demopoulos (Philosophy, Western Ontario), Rob DiSalle (Philosophy, UWO), Lucas Dunlap (Philosophy, UMD), Michael Fisher (Physics & IPST, UMD), Gordon Fleming (Physics, Penn State), Brandon Fogel (Philosophy, U Chicago), Chris Fuchs (Perimeter Institute), Shelly Goldstein (Mathematics, Rutgers), Philip Goyal (Perimeter Institute), Alexei Grinbaum (CEA-Saclay, LARSIM), Balazs Gyenis (HPS, U Pittsburgh), Amit Hagar (HPS, Indiana), Meir Hemmo (Philosophy, U Haifa), Richard Healey (Philosophy, U Arizona), Bei-Lok Hu (Physics, UMD), Nick Huggett ((Philosophy, U Illinois), Ted Jacobson (Physics, UMD), Melissa Jacquart (NSF), Benjamin C. Jantzen (Philosophy, CMU), Ruth Kastner (CPaS, UMD), Michael Kiessling (Mathematics, Rutgers), Fred Kronz (NSF), Christoph Lehner (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin), Tracy Lupher (Philosophy, James Madison U), Tim Maudlin (Philosophy, Rutgers), Vishyna Maudlin (Philosophy, Rutgers), James Mattingly (Philosophy, Georgetown U), Robert McFarland (Physics, UMD), Charles Misner (Physics, UMD), Florin Moldoveanu (Nat Inst of Physics and Nuclear Engineering, Bucharest), Wayne Myrvold (Philosophy, Western Ontario), Jill North (Philosophy, Yale), Dan Parker (Philosophy, Virginia Tech), Bryan W Roberts (HPS, Pittsburgh), Rob Rynasiewicz (Philosophy, JHU), Steve Savitt (Philosophy, UBC), Michiel Seevinck (Institute for History & Foundations of Science, U Utrecht), Rob Spekkens (Perimeter Institute), Allen Stairs (Philosophy, UMD), Noel Swanson (Philosophy, Princeton), Mike Tamir (HPS, U Pittsburgh), Jos Uffink (Institute for History & Foundations of Science, U Utrecht), Steve Weinstein (Philosophy, U Waterloo), David Wallace (Philosophy, Oxford), Alex Wilce (Mathematics, Susquehanna U),

The conference will take place at the Mathematical Association of America Carriage House, 1781 Church Street NW, Washington, DC 20036, two blocks from Dupont Circle. For general information about Washington, DC, see WashingtonInfo.

The number of participants is limited by available seating, so we regret that participation is by invitation only.

For further information, contact Jeffrey Bub at

New Directions 2009  
New Directions 2008  
New Directions 2007  
New Directions 2006 
New Directions 2005 
New Directions 2004 
New Directions 2003 
New Directions 2002 

Copyright 2001 Foundations of Physics, UMD. All rights reserved.
home links calendar programs people